Just Thinkin’ About Getting Started

The journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step.”                                                                                                          Lao Tzu, Chinese Taoist philosopher, 600-531 B.C

For the past few weeks I have felt shock, sadness and despair as I’ve watched and listened to news of the world around me. This time of year the news always seems darker than usual; but this year, for many reasons, it’s downright sad and scary.

The other evening as I listened to yet another discouraging news report, I felt utterly helpless. What can I, a retired school teacher, do to help fix what’s wrong? At that moment, I heard a small, quiet voice. “Write, Donna. Start the blog. Just do it.”

The next day I opened the next book from the ever-growing stack of books I plan to read. The title? If You Want to Walk on Water, You’ve Got to Get Out of the Boat by John Ortberg. As the title suggests, the author takes an in-depth, thoughtful look at Matthew 14:25-33, in which Jesus walks on water and commands Peter to get out of the boat and come to Him. It’s a story about taking a step of faith.

With the turning of each page, the voice I had heard the evening before became louder and more insistent. “Start the blog, Donna. Do it now.”

It became clear to me that now is the time to begin the blog I had been considering for quite some time. Now. No more procrastinating. I need to get out of the boat and take a step of faith.

So here I am, at the beginning of a new adventure. While I don’t pretend to believe you will agree with everything I say, I hope a few words here and there will resonate with you. Perhaps you will be moved to read a book or two; to think about new ideas; to try something new; to start an important conversation in your community. Who knows? Perhaps you’ll be encouraged to get out of the boat and set off on your own adventure.

See you along the journey!

2 thoughts on “Just Thinkin’ About Getting Started”

  1. I’m there, too! I started thinking about healing myself actually, and began writing again to save my sanity. I don’t watch the news anymore, sad to say. Such a big thing in our house when I was a kid in the 1960’s. I love your spirit, Donna! Keep after it! Have a wonderful New Year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

