… about Book Club

I just returned home from a book club meeting. It’s an activity I look forward to each month.

Some might say we use the phrase “book club” loosely. We’re more of a ladies’ literary eating society. Once a month, seven or eight of us, all retired school teachers, get together. The hostess regales us with a delicious luncheon, and we visit about this and that before getting down to the business of discussing what we’ve read over the past month.

Our group decided a couple years ago to take a different direction from traditional book clubs. After getting bogged down with a couple of  books no one enjoyed, we dispensed with the idea of all reading and discussing the same book. Now we all read whatever we want during the month. At book club, each of us reports on her favorites; then we share books around so everyone has a chance to read them.

Some (most) of us are addicted to purchasing new books, so there are always plenty to share around. Today, a couple of the ladies brought multiple tote bags full. If someone can’t find a book she wants to read, she isn’t paying attention.

We visit all afternoon. The discussions are lively, the company pleasant. I never fail to return home with a hefty list of books that I’d like to read. It’s a wonderful way to spend a Free-Reading Friday.

books

Photo: public domain

4 thoughts on “… about Book Club”

  1. I love the idea that you ladies are putting a new spin on your book club. Once I get a little more settled into my new residence I’m hoping I can find a few ladies who love this idea as much as I do. I’m starting a 2017 book challenge. If you have some time I’d love it if you could take a look at the list and make some suggestions based on the type of books I am to read!

    Like

    1. I’m finally getting back to you with a few suggestions for your challenge. These are books I’ve enjoyed.
      A book of letters: Ella Minnow Pea by Mark Dunn
      A book with a cat on the cover: Dewey the Library Cat by Vicki Myron and Bret Witter
      A book set in a hotel: Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford
      First book in a series: The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde
      A book you bought on a trip: Walker of Time by Helen Hughes Vick (This also counts as a young adult novel.)

      I hope this helps and that you enjoy some of these.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’d love to take a look. I went to your blog and saw that you were referring to the PopSugar book challenge. I’ve downloaded the list; I’ll give it some thought, make some notes and send you a reply. It sounds like a fun challenge!

    Like

Leave a Reply

